Mobile Home | Desktop Version


By Maloney L. Samaco
Mon, 29 Jul 2019

After wresting the WBA Super welterweight title from Keith Thurman, Manny Pacquiao has already defeated 22 world boxing champions, namely Chatchai Sasakul, Lehlohonolo Ledwaba, Jorge Eli?cer Julio, Marco Antonio Barrera (twice), ?rik Morales (twice), ?scar Larios, Jorge Sol?s, Juan Manuel M?rquez (twice), David D?az, Oscar De La Hoya, Ricky Hatton, Miguel Cotto, Joshua Clottey, Antonio Margarito, Shane Mosley, Brandon R?os, Timothy Bradley (twice), Chris Algieri, Jessie Vargas, Lucas Matthysse, Adrien Broner and Keith Thurman.

Thailand's Sasakul held the WBC and lineal flyweight titles, defended the titles twice before losing to Pacquiao by knockout in the 8th round in 1998 to earn Pacquiao his first world boxing title.

South Africa's Ledwaba was the IBF super bantamweight champion and defended the title five times before losing to Pacquiao, who was a late substitute, via 6th round TKO in 2001 to earn Pacquiao his second world championship in two weight divisions.

Colombia's Julio was a two-time bantamweight champion, having held the WBA and WBO titles in separate occasions. He lost to Pacquiao by 2nd round TKO in 2002.

Mexico's Barrera held multiple world championships in three weight classes, including the WBO junior featherweight title twice, the Ring magazine and lineal featherweight titles, and the unified WBC and IBF super featherweight titles. He lost twice to Pacquiao by 11th round TKO in 2003 and by unanimous decision in 2007.

Another Mexican legend Morales lost twice after winning his first bout with Pacquiao. He was the first Mexican boxer in history to win world titles in four different weight classes, the WBC super bantamweight title, the WBC featherweight title twice, the unified WBC and IBF super featherweight titles, and the WBC super lightweight title. Pacquiao defeated him via 10th round TKO in January 2006 and by 3rd round KO in November of the same year.

Mexico's Larios, the former WBC super bantamweight and featherweight champion, was defeated by Pacquiao via unanimous decision in July 2006 at the Araneta Coliseum, the senator's last fight in the Philippines.

Mexico's Sol?s was interim WBA super featherweight champion. He lost to Pacquiao by 8th round KO in 2007.

Mexico's M?rquez became world champion in four weight classes and held nine world championships including the WBA (Super), IBF and WBO featherweight titles, the WBC super featherweight title, the WBA (Super), WBO, Ring magazine and lineal lightweight titles and the WBO junior welterweight title. Pacquiao won the second fight via split decision in 2008 and the third fight by majority decision in 2011. The first fight was a split draw while Pacquiao was knocked out in the 6th round in the fourth encounter.

American D?az held the WBC lightweight title and lost it to Pacquiao by 9th round TKO in 2008.

American De la Hoya was six division champion and was the WBO junior lightweight champion, the WBO and IBF lightweight champion, the WBC light welterweight champion, the WBC welterweight champion twice, the WBC light middleweight champion twice, the WBA (Super) light middleweight champion, and the WBO middleweight champion. Golden Boy also held the IBA welterweight and light middleweight titles and The Ring light middleweight title, and the lineal light welterweight, welterweight and light middleweight titles. De La Hoya was badly beaten by Pacquiao and his corner stopped the fight after the eighth round in 2008.

Britain's Hatton won the IBF, WBA (Super), IBF, The Ring and lineal light-welterweight titles and the WBA welterweight title. Pacquiao knocked him out in the second round in 2009.

Puerto Rico's Cotto was the WBO light welterweight champion, the WBA and WBO welterweight champion, the WBA (Super) and WBO light middleweight champion, and the unified WBC, Ring, and lineal middleweight champion. Pacquiao defeated him by 12th round TKO in 2009.

Ghana's Clottey held the IBF welterweight title. He lost to Pacquiao by unanimous decision in 2010.

Mexican American Margarito held the WBO, IBF and WBA (Super) welterweight titles. He was beaten by Pacquiao via unanimous decision in 2010.

American Mosley held the IBF lightweight title, the WBA (Super) and WBC welterweight titles, and the WBA (Super), WBC, and Ring magazine light middleweight titles. He is also a former lineal welterweight (twice) and light middleweight champion. Pacquiao defeated him by a one-sided unanimous decision in 2011.

American Rios was the WBA lightweight champion. Pacquiao won over him by unanimous decision in 2013.

American Bradley won the WBC light welterweight title twice, the WBO light welterweight title, and the WBO welterweight title twice. Pacquiao defeated him twice in 2014 and 2016 both by unanimous decision avenging his first fight split decision loss in 2012.

American Algieri held the WBO junior welterweight title. Pacquiao defeated him by unanimous decision in 2014.

American Vargas was the WBA (Regular) and IBO super lightweight title holderand the WBO welterweight title holder. Pacquiao defeated him by unanimous decision in 2016.

Argentina's Matthysse was the WBA (Regular) welterweight champion and the WBC interim super lightweight champion. He lost to Pacquiao by 7th round TKO in 2018.

American Broner held the WBO junior lightweight title, the WBC lightweight title, the WBA welterweight title, and the WBA light welterweight title. Pacquiao over him won by unanimous decision last January.

American Thurman was the former unified welterweight world champion, having held the WBA title and promoted to Super champion, and the WBC title. He suffered his first loss to Pacquiao last July 20.

Click here to view a list of other articles written by Maloney L. Samaco.

Recent In-House articles:

    By Maloney L. Samaco, Thu, 02 Apr 2020
  • April 2, 1971 - Climax of the First Mexican Boxing Civil War
    By Teodoro Medina Reynoso, Thu, 02 Apr 2020
  • WGM Janelle Mae Frayna rules 1st Women's Online Bullet Chess Championships
    By Marlon Bernardino, Thu, 02 Apr 2020
    Thu, 02 Apr 2020
  • New York State Boxing HOF & Ring 8 establish fund to assist boxers and boxing personnel
    Thu, 02 Apr 2020
  • Boxing Manager Adrian Clark Joins Fight Network
    Thu, 02 Apr 2020
  • Remembering PH Boxing's Unsung Heroes: Part 3 - Featuring Johnny Jamito
    By Teodoro Medina Reynoso, Wed, 01 Apr 2020
  • To Fight Against Quarantine Inactivity, Salita Promotions Announces New YouTube Series ‘Train Like a Boxer’
    Wed, 01 Apr 2020
    By Maloney L. Samaco, Wed, 01 Apr 2020
    Wed, 01 Apr 2020
  • Marcial undecided on pro career
    By Joaquin Henson, Wed, 01 Apr 2020
  • From Ali to Fury: Bob Arum Celebrates 54 Years in Boxing
    Wed, 01 Apr 2020
  • Jose Ramirez-Viktor Postol Super Lightweight World Title Bout Postponed
    Wed, 01 Apr 2020
  • 45 Years Ago Today: Salavarria Makes History as First Pinoy to Win Flyweight Titles of WBC and WBA
    By Teodoro Medina Reynoso, Wed, 01 Apr 2020
    Wed, 01 Apr 2020